Defend Michael Chessum, sign the trade union statement

19 November 2013

On 14 November the Metropolitan Police arrested Michael Chessum, ULU President, for organising a protest in defence of the University of London Student Union (ULU). See

UoL management have increasingly asked the police to intervene against students in the University of London who have campaigned around the London Living Wage and other ‘trade union’ demands, including extraordinarily, within the ULU building itself. You are invited to circulate the open letter below in Michael’s support and to add your name.

To add your name please email Molly Cooper <>.

Defend Michael Chessum!

We the undersigned unreservedly condemn the arrest of University of London Union President, Michael Chessum, for allegedly organising a demonstration apparently contrary to the Public Order Act. This arrest coincides with the revelations in The Guardian that Cambridge police have been attempting to pay students to inform on fellow student ‘activists’, and follows the arrest of a student activist in the 3 Cosas campaign in the ULU building itself.

We believe that it is time to reiterate the basic position that Universities are centres of learning and we condemn the increasing role of the police on university campuses to stifle legitimate protest. 

Molly Cooper Unison Greater London Women’s rep Service Group Executive
Louise Lambe, Unison HE member
Max Watson, UNISON NEC and London Met Uni UNISON Branch Sec
Gyta Nicola, Branch Secretary IOE UNISON
Hazel Croft, assistant branch secretary IOE UNISON
Sandy Nicoll, SOAS UNISON Branch Secretary and London Region General Seat, UNISON Higher Education Service Group Executive
Simon Deville Branch Secretary Birkbeck Unison
Sean Wallis President University College London UCU
Des Freedman Secretary Goldsmiths UCU
Ulrike Sommer UCU departmental rep for the Institute of Archaeology
Tom Hickey Chair, UCU Coordinating Committee
David Hardman London Met UCU Membership Secretary
Jacqueline Sheehan Branch Chair UCL Unison
Dr Laurie Stras Southampton University UCU exec committee member
Marian Mayer Vice Chair BU UCU
Dr John Fry
Mark Campbell, London Met UCU (Chair), UCU NEC
Daragh O’Reilly
Sophie Hope UCU Birkbeck Branch Secretary
Mike Lammiman VP University of Hull UCU

Dr Karen F. Evans
John Baxter, UCU Co-ordinating
Committee Member, Sheffield College
Mark O’Brien Membership Secretary, University of Liverpool UCU

Marian Mayer Vice  Chair  BU UCU

Javed Khanzada

Lesley McGorrigan 

UCU, NEC Member and Yorkshire and the Humber Regional Secretary

Ciara Doyle, UCU


Leave a comment

Mailing List




Follow us

RSS icon facebook button twitter button email button

Our Tweets